Government

Names:

conventional long form: none

conventional short form: Montserrat

Digraph: MH

Type: dependent territory of the UK

Capital: Plymouth

Administrative divisions: 3 parishes; Saint Anthony, Saint Georges, Saint

Peter's

Independence: none (dependent territory of the UK)

National holiday: Celebration of the Birthday of the Queen (second

Saturday of June)

Constitution: present constitution came into force 19 December 1989

Legal system: English common law and statute law

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

Executive branch:

chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor Frank SAVAGE (since NA February 1993)

head of government: Chief Minister Reuben T. MEADE (since NA October 1991)

cabinet: Executive Council; consists of the governor, the chief minister, three other ministries, the attorney-general, and the finance secretary

Legislative branch: unicameral

Legislative Council: elections last held 8 October 1991; results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (11 total, 7 elected) NPP 4, NDP 1, PLM 1, independent 1

Judicial branch: Supreme Court

Political parties and leaders: National Progressive Party (NPP) Reuben T. MEADE; People's Liberation Movement (PLM), Noel TUITT; National Development Party (NDP), Bertrand OSBORNE

Member of: CARICOM, CDB, ECLAC (associate), ICFTU, INTERPOL (subbureau), OECS, WCL

Diplomatic representation in US: none (dependent territory of the UK)

US diplomatic representation: none (dependent territory of the UK)

Flag: blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Montserratian coat of arms centered in the outer half of the flag; the coat

of arms features a woman standing beside a yellow harp with her arm around a black cross

Defense Forces

Branches: Police Force

Note: defense is the responsibility of the UK